Car Keys or Lesson Taught

Lesson Learned

On Saturday, October 12, 2013 my husband and I picked Robert from Bridges to Independence program.  We planned to spend the Columbus Day weekend in New York with Robert’s grandmother.  My husband reluctantly let me drive first and so I got in the car, put the key in the ignition and tried to turn it on.  The key did not turn.  The car did not start.  Wrong key in the wrong car.

I tried to pull the key out.

It did not get out.

Jan tried to pull the key out.

It did not get out.

Reaching from the back seat. Robert tried to pull the key out.

We did not let him.

We called AAA.  They said it was  a busy day, so they would come in 35 minutes.

From the back seat, Robert tried to reach the key.  We stopped him.  He tried again.  We stopped him again.

Pam, the instructor from Bridges to Independence Program, offered to drive us both home.  Anticipating that Robert would get more and more impatient, I gratefully accepted.

Robert was not happy.  He did not want to leave the car, the key, and his dad  in the parking lot.

Pam kept calming him down and explaining that everything would be OK.

He believed her, but to the point.

I kept explaining that everything would be fine.

Robert believed me, but …

Jan was waiting for AAA.  I kept calling AAA.

After two and a half hours, to Robert’s relief, I decided to return to Bridgewater and pick up Jan.

Soon after we returned,  three hours after initial call to AAA,  the tow truck from AAA arrived and carried our car to a dealer.  Jan, Robert and I followed in the other car.

At the dealer another problem.  Robert already accepted the fact that the wrong car was stuck in the ignition.  He could not accept however, that my husband tried to leave ANOTHER key, the correct one,  with the dealer.  Two keys for one car!  It did not seem fair or right. Oh, well, somehow we managed at 6:30 PM to get on the interstate 95 aiming for New York City.

Of course, Robert remembered.

“Car key, car key.”

“Mother made a mistake. Put a wrong key in the car.  Mechanic will fix that.”

“Car key, car key.”

“What about car key?”

“At the mechanic.”

With a few slight variations this dialogue was repeated approximately 50 times before we reached Manhattan.

Lesson Taught

Fast forward to Monday morning.

Robert and I went to the car to get a bag of freshly picked apples from the trunk.  The apples spilled all over the trunk.  I gathered them all and tried to shut the trunk.  Robert stretched his arm preventing me from doing so.  He looked at me with a mixture of scorn and disappointment.  Very serious look.

As I froze a little confused, Robert reached to the trunk and retrieved the bunch of keys from it.

He stretched then bent his arm as if he weren’t sure if he should trust me with the keys.

“I will be more careful with keys.  I promise.”

Although the skeptical look didn’t disappear from his face, Robert gave me the keys.

He thought, I learned my lesson.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

