After a Month

A month has passed since Robert graduated from school. Although we study every day and go out at least once a day, I am not sure how much Robert learned during that time and to what degree his world expanded. We mostly continued with the same activities Robert did before he finished the school. At home, he cooked his chicken a few times, but since he kept leaving the kitchen with the chicken on the stove, he still needed close monitoring. No independence yet.
For the fist time, he baked brownies using mixture from the package. Still, I assisted him every step of the way, even if only to remind him to read the directions. No Independence.
We went to movies a few times. I have chosen theaters he had not visited before. More importantly, I consequently kept taking him for PG 13 movies. Small progress
there, as the number of trips to the bathroom during the movie was on the average… zero.
We went to the Zoo, but nothing new there.
The new addition to the daily routine were (almost) daily exercises aimed at the gross motor coordination. Some improvement in endurance and in attitude.
I noticed some progress in Robert handling self register at the grocery store. He was very skillful in passing bar code in front of the scanner and he became more skillful in entering the code from those produce items he had to weigh. He is still not sure of his new pin on his ATM card and needs help there.
As for our study together, I hardly see the progress in reading comprehension. Although, he is better in answering the Who, Where, and When questions as they relate to the setting of the story we read, I still don’t think he is able to retell the story after we complete the story map. This is mainly my fault as I did not emphasized that skill at this time.
There is an improvement in Robert building or copying 3D structures, but to be sure, I should monitor this skill better. It is still hard for Robert to decide how many faces, edges, and vertices different solids have just by looking at their drawings. When presented with a model he answers correctly most of the time.
Reading parts of the Amelia Bedelia book was a new challenge for him and me. I said “part” as I zeroed on some topics trying to explain to Robert some of the misunderstandings, Amelia had. I was happy when Robert laughed when he read about Amelia Bedelia cutting flowers, but he wasn’t exactly sure what was wrong with the direction Prune the hedge
I had to get out of my comfort zone and explore other things,to take Robert into community. I called the library asking if Robert and I could come one morning a week and put some of the returned books on the shelves. Someone should get back to me, but nobody did. We also visited today our town’s food pantry with two bags of imperishable food. I asked if we could come and volunteer
on one of the two mornings. That was not an options. The place had too many volunteers already.
That brings me to the idea I have been playing with for quite a while, but didn’t do much about it yet. Writing together a book about…meaning of life.
About our place, roles, responsibilities…
I do think that people with developmental disabilities need such book. They long for understanding of their place i the world even more than people who consider themselves fully in charge of their lives.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. yolanda roy

     /  April 15, 2014

    You should write a book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

