Journal, Mostly on Making Noises

May 31, 2014

I haven’t written in a few days. I couldn’t write, because I had too much to tell, share, and analyze.
Having too many things to say at the same time, stops me like nothing else from writing. All those observations and experiences are all tangled together in a hard to untie knot. That is when I just write a page in a Journal, a simple report on what we did and/or what happened.

Yesterday, Robert was making noises. He uttered more long vowel sounds (and they were much, much longer) than he produced in a whole month of our speech exercises.
When we practice speech with the help of Speak It on IPAD, he still shortens his vowels. Yesterday and today, however, he made those vowels very, very long.
Of course, I was concerned. More than concerned. I have not noticed such behavior in a few years. Their return seemed like a big step backwards. I had almost forgotten about them and certainly didn’t anticipate their resurgence.
As it had been the case in the past, I became afraid that Robert had another bout of stomach pain. The different way of breathing and longer time spent in the bathroom seemed to confirm that suspicion. With that suspicion comes regular paranoia aimed at new food. What made him feel bad? Back to reading labels of every new item on his menu.
Was he making noises because he was disappointed that his evaluation program ended? I am not sure, if he really understand that…
Was he making those long vowel sounds as a way of singing? After all, he loves his weekly music therapy at Bridge Center.
Was he making noises, because he didn’t have anything else to do?
Should I really stop that behavior as highly inappropriate or should I embrace it as a way of practicing long sounds?
Well, yesterday, I went through the old procedure from years ago. When Robert was running and making noises, I responded, “I see, that you want to talk, so let’s talk.” I, then, took a set of language cards and we practiced saying different words.
Today, I did something different. I took Robert to the piano (needs tuning desperately) and played a very simple tune a few times while Robert tried to follow.
To my complete surprise, Robert was able to change the pitch of his sounds.
Rewind: A couple of weeks ago, my friend Jean played one note at a time and Robert sang that note. She played maybe two or three notes altogether. That surprised me as well, because….
Because until now, I didn’t believe that Robert was capable of changing the pitch of his voice on purpose, or when directed by anybody.
What has happened?
Is the music therapy he has been having for more than a year now responsible for that development?
How come I didn’t notice that sooner? Did I stop believing it can ever happen?

After “singing”, we still practiced words from apraxia language cards.
Robert was also working, completely independently, on a few math worksheets (easy, but wide range of skills required). He felt might proud about that. He did lesson 10 from Reasoning and Writing which was the test.He did well with only one small hiccups.
He didn’t make any noises after we finished studying. Maybe, his stomach stopped hurting.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

