Stress and Dull Teaching.

June 28, 2014
It was a rather tiring week. I was tired. When I am tired, teaching and learning is more bumpy. It is harder for me to specify short or long-term goals. In other words, I don’t know what I am teaching for and what possible benefits to Robert our efforts could bring. I know that Robert would answer questions and complete worksheets. What I don’t know is how would the topics we addressed relate to Robert’s life in general. I don’t know either how I could help Robert connect those “desk” exercises to his “real” life needs.
I have to admit that, for a last few days, I forced myself to study with Robert. Often, we started late in the evening. I couldn’t create the proper atmosphere and I was disappointed with myself.
Those are not the features of a successful instructor.
Robert and I just trudged through a few lessons from Reasoning and Writing, a few units from Functional Routines for Adolescents and Adults, a set of lessons from Singapore Math, and a few short texts from a reading workbook. As we went on, I felt more and more disappointed noticing how many opportunities I have been wasting because of my inability to make the teaching “ALIVE”.
That is such an important distinction between creating good, uplifting opportunity for learning, for opening another gate to the world, and dull, forced hammering the wall without even knowing what is behind.
Let me make sure, that distinction in no way relates to the student’s abilities or lack of them. It all relates to the teacher’s skills. Not general skills, but the skills as they are demonstrated that particular hour, day, week.
It was a tiring week for me and it was a week of dull teaching.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

